Search for Books, Movies, and More here!

Home>Reference and Research Center>Databases

Databases

On this page are links into databases with articles and information on your research topics. If you are searching them from home, you will need your Thomas Ford library card number to sign in.

Computer Technology Magazines and Journals

Computer Source (EBSCO)
Articles about latest information trends in computers and high technology.

Encyclopedias for All Ages

Grolier Online (In the Library)
Grolier Online (Away from the Library)
Contains 5 illustrated encyclopedia databases: Encyclopedia Americana, Grolier Multimedia Encyclopedia, The New Book of Popular Science, Lands and Peoples, America the Beautiful, and Amazing Animals of the World. Great for students.

Gale Virtual Reference
Search many specialized encyclopedias simultaneously to find authoritative articles for many topics. These sources can be very helpful for students doing homework, business people needing industrial background, or readers interested in historical facts. Try this source as a scholarly alternative to the Wikipedia. User from home need their library card numbers to log in.

Genealogy Information

HeritageQuest Online(In the Library)
HeritageQuest Online(Away from the Library)
Articles from local history and genealogy magazines, journals, and books, as well as data from U.S. Census rolls and other government records.

Health and Medical Magazines and Journals

Health Source - Consumer Edition (EBSCO)
Articles from popular and professional medical magazines and journals ,including the medical sciences, food sciences and nutrition, childcare, sports medicine and general health. Updated weekly.

Investment Information

Standard and Poor's NetAdvantage (In the Library)
Standard and Poor's NetAdvantage (Away from the Library)
Stock, bond, and fund reports, as well as company profiles and S&P's Outlook.

Magazine Articles

MasterFile Elite (EBSCO)
General interest periodicals and reference books, plus photos, maps, and flags. Good for topics in the news, entertainment, sports, science, cooking, etc.

America's News Magazines
26 titles in business (e.g. Fortune), news (e.g. Time), entertainment (e.g. Entertainment Weekly), science & technology (e.g.Popular Science), lifestyle (e.g. InStyle), and sports (e.g. Sports Illustrated).

Newspaper Articles

Chicago Tribune
Search the full text of the Chicago Tribune(1985-present)for world news, opinion, business, entertainment, sports, and other features.

Newspaper Source (EBSCO)
Articles on many topics from regional, national, and international newspapers.

Reading Advice and Literary Criticism

NoveList Plus(EBSCO)
Tell Novelist a title you enjoyed and it will recommend similar reading. You may search for novels by subject, author, and title. Book book club discussion guides and essays are also available.

NoveList K-8 (EBSCO)
Reading recommendations suitable for ages from kindergarten to 8th grade.

MagillOnLiterature Plus (EBSCO)
Masterplots is one part of this literary database for readers and students, which contains critical analyses, plot summaries, and author biographies and essays.

Western Springs History

Western Springs History Database
This collaboration between the Library and the Western Springs Historical Society includes photographs and descriptions of historic homes in Western Springs. Search for a home, browse by street.

Western Springs Obituary Index
Obituary/death notices from Suburban Life and Doings. Browse by last name or search. So far, the index covers 2003-present.

To access the following, you’ll need an authorization code and password.
Please contact us.


First Search Databases
First Search includes ERIC for education professionals, Medline from the National Library of Medicine, and several magazine article databases, some of which have full text.